Sables fall again

Zimbabwe....................(7) 28

Namibia......................(27) 58

HARARE - Scoring four tries against Namibia here yesterday was not enough consolation for the Sables as they continue their search for a first win in the 2018 Rugby Afrique Gold Cup.

Flanker Connor Pritchard, centre Tafadzwa Chitokwindo, hooker Matthew Mandioma and wing Shayne Makombe all crossed the whitewash for the hosts.

This is the highest number of five pointers Namibia have conceded in this competition after only letting in two in three previous encounters against Tunisia, Uganda and Morocco.

However, as has been the case throughout the Sables’ Gold Cup campaign this year, handling errors and missed tackles proved to be team’s biggest down fall.

Namibia have been the most dominant team in this division and they were never going to let the Sables off the hook as they capitalised on those mistakes with eight tires of their own.  

If the Welwitschias avoid defeat to Kenya in their next match, they will qualify for the 2019 Rugby World Cup to be held in Japan while the Sables are now in danger of relegation to the second tier, Silver Cup next season.

Sables coach Peter de Villiers was disappointed by the way the home side let slip the good moments they enjoyed throughout the game and failed to put Namibia under immense pressure.

“You don’t come to lose any game and we let in some easy tries,” bemoaned the South African.

“As I told my players at half time, ‘this is the most difficult halftime team talk I will ever do. At times you are so good but then at times, we just let it slip’.

“I felt good about this game. We brought in some good youngsters that are very good for us going forward. When I started coaching the Springboks, I almost lost all of the games in 2008 but in 2009, we won the Tri-Nations and Lions Series.

“So, this game was about small important victories, we couldn’t make anymore and it was to get the bonus point; we got it.”

The Welwitschias were on the scoreboard as early as the second minute after the Sables defence failed to hold off Lesley Klim as he burst through a couple of mistimed tackles before crossing the whitewash.

Fly half Cliven Loubser converted with ease.

Zimbabwe responded well though as moments later, Pritchard scored the home side’s first try after a patient build-up.

Fly half Brandon Mandivenga started the move with a clever kick into the Namibia 22 where Makombe applied pressure on the receiver.

Following a turnover, the Sables went through eight phases before a pick and go from Pritchard finally broke the Namibia resistance.

Mandivenga tied the scores with the conversion.

However, when the Sables seemed to be getting some bit of control on the game, Namibia went onto the other side to score tries.

It was not as if the Welwitschias was playing some brilliant rugby but the visitors were just doing the basics while the Sables were sloppy.

Loubser regained his side’s lead with a penalty after the Sables failed to roll away after a tackle inside their own 22.

That was followed by two more tries from tighthead prop Johannes Coetzee and wing Johann Greyling.

Loubser converted both tries and added another penalty to give the Namibia a 7-27 lead after the break.

Three minutes into the second period, the visitors added another try this with Wian Conradie allowed to race through the Sables defence.

Chitokwindo responded moments later but Namibia were always finding gaps at the other end with tries from Peter Steenkamp, Tijuee Uanive, Louis van der Westhuizen and Johan Tromp.

A late charge from the Sables saw Makombe and Mandioma all scoring a try apiece but it was not good enough to stop this Namibia juggernaut. 


Zimbabwe XV: 15. Shingirayi Katsvere, 14. Shayne Makombe, 13. Kudzai Mashawi, 12. Tafadzwa, Mhende, 11. Tafadzwa Chitokwindo, 10. Brandon Mandivenga, 9. Hilton Mudariki, 8 . Tapfuma Parirenyatwa, 7, Connor Pritchard, 6. Takudzwa Mandiwanza, 5. Fortunate Chipendu, 4. Brian Nyaude, 3. Farai Mudariki, 2. David Makanda, 1. Denford Mutamangira

Namibia: 15. Chrysander Botha, 14. Lesley Klim, 13. Johan Deysel, 12. Darryl de la Hapre, 11. Johan Tromp, 10. Cliven Loubser, 9. Eugene Jantjies, 8. PJ van Lill, 7. Janco Venter, 6. Rohan Kitshoff, 5. Tijuee Uanive, 4. Mahepisa Tjenko, 3. Johannes Coetzee, 2. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1. Casper Viviers    

Comments (1)

Zimbabwe international rugby and cricket, needs to be put on hold for 2-3 years. Poor results all the time.

jake - 6 August 2018

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.