Young Warriors ready for Cosafa

HARARE - The Young Warriors arrived in Zambia yesterday ahead of the Cosafa Under-20 Championships which kicks-off today in Kitwe with their head coach Bekithemba Ndlovu declaring his charges ready for the tournament.

Zimbabwe, who left the country yesterday morning by road, are pooled in Group C together with Angola, Lesotho and Namibia.

Ndlovu’s charges will get the ball rolling with a clash against Lesotho at the Nkana Stadium in Kitwe tomorrow with their next game coming two days later at the same venue against Angola.

Young Warriors

The Young Warriors

The Young Warriors will then round up their group assignments with a clash against Namibia at the Arthur Davies Stadium in Kitwe.

Zimbabwe will have to be at their best as only the top teams from the three groups will qualify for the semi-finals together with the best-placed runners-up.

However, speaking to the Daily News ahead of the team’s departure yesterday, Ndlovu expressed confidence in his charges saying they are going to compete not to add numbers.

“I think the boys are now ready and looking forward to do well in Zambia,” he said.

“Any coach would go into a tournament with a positive mindset. We are going there to compete. It will be good if we can manage to reach the knock out stages.

“Of course we are not putting pressure on these youngsters because the ultimate goal is to develop them to become future national team players.”

Young Warriors Squad:

Goalkeepers: Ali Tinotenda (CAPS United), Panashe Nyabunga (Ngezi Platinum Stars), Prince Tafiremutsa (Herentals)

Defenders: Nkosana Ndlovu (Highlanders), Mbongeni Lindelwe (Highlanders), Collin Mujuru (Aces Youth Academy), Sukhosi Ncube (Highlanders), Ngobile Ndlovu (How Mine)

Midfielders: Shadreck Nyanhwa (Bantu Rovers), Leeroy Mavunga (Yadah), Nicholas Guyo (Aces Youth Academy), Denzel Khumalo (Highlanders), Junior Nyamuziwa (ZPC Kariba), Clive Rupiya (Bulawayo City), Tatenda Muringani (Dynamos), Malvin Kwinjo, Tatenda Mchisa (Ngezi Platinum Stars)

Strikers: Kudakwashe Mangani (Bantu Rovers), Delic Murimba (Hwange), King Nasama (Dynamos)