Chidzambwa braces for Cecafa tourney

HARARE - Warriors interim coach Sunday Chidzambwa wants to assemble a strong side that can go and compete for the 2017 Cecafa Cup tournament.

Zimbabwe will participate as a guest nation when the east and central African regional championships kicks-off in Kenya on December 3.

Chidzambwa yesterday announced a provisional squad made up of 29 players which will start preparations for the tournament today.

Sunday Chidzambwa

Sunday Chidzambwa - Warriors interim coach

Zimbabwe were drawn in Group B alongside holders Uganda, Burundi, Ethiopia and South Sudan.

The Warriors are the current southern African champions having beaten Zambia in the final of the Cosafa Castle Cup in July and have set their sights on the Cecafa tournament.

“Just like any other coach, you always want do well. But at the same time you also want enough time to prepare and assemble a good squad. Any coach would want to go and win in any tournament and I am not an exception,” Chidzambwa said.

“We are looking forward to assemble a good squad. We want to go there and compete. We don’t want to go and just add numbers. I think we have picked quite a balanced side that we believe can go and represent the country well.”

All players called for duty are expected to troop into camp today ahead of departure on a date which is yet to be announced.

The tournament kicks-off on December 3 with the hosts facing Rwanda.

Chidzambwa’s squad is made up of mostly local players save for Tanzanian-based Donald Ngoma, who plays for Young Africans.

Some of the players in Chidzambwa’s squad include Black Rhinos goalkeeper Herbert Rusawo together with his teammate Lot Chiwunga.

There are also places for CAPS United’s trio, Steven Makatuka, Devon Chafa and league’s top goal scorer Dominic Chungwa.

Harare City’s Farai Madhanhanga, Partson Jaure of Ngezi Platinum Stars, Ali Sadiki from FC Platinum and Never Tigere from ZPC Kariba are some of the players in the squad.

Warriors’ Provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Elvis Chipezeze (Chicken Inn); Herbert Rusawo (Black Rhinos) Takabva Mawaya (Ngezi Platinum)

Defenders: Divine Lunga (Chicken Inn); Praise Tonha (How Mine); Qadr Amini (Ngezi Platinum Stars); Partson Jaure (Ngezi Platinum Stars); Farai Madhananga (Harare City); Peter Muduhwa (Highlanders); Jimmy Dzingai (Yadah Stars); Collin Kwaramba (Chapungu); Kelvin Moyo (FC Platinum); Steven Makatuka (CAPS United)

Midfielders: Devon Chafa (CAPS United); Gerald Takwara, Ali Sadiki (FC Platinum); Never Tigere (ZPC Kariba); Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum Stars); Rodwell Chinyengetere (FC Platinum); Ishmael Wadi (Bulawayo City); Raphael Manuvire (ZPC Kariba); Clemence Matawu (Chicken Inn) Martin Vengesai (Harare City)

Strikers: Dominic Chungwa (CAPS United); Clive Augusto (Ngezi Platinum) Terrence Dzvukamanja (Ngezi Platinum Stars) Donald Ngoma; Lot Chiwunga (Black Rhinos)