'We'll attend DeMbare AGM'

HARARE - Ernest Kamba and his group insist they have a right to attend the Dynamos Annual General Meeting (AGM) scheduled for Sunday despite Bernard Marriot’s claim they are not part of the club.

Lawyers representing Kamba and his colleagues last week wrote to Dynamos board secretary Mthokozisi Nkosi maintaining that their clients were eligible to be part of the gathering.

“In terms of the 1963 constitution of Dynamos . . ., our clients are members of the electoral college of Dynamos . . . and shareholders of Dynamos Football Club (pvt) Ltd and as such are eligible to attend the AGM,” Mambosasa Legal Practitioners wrote.

“To that end, our clients are requesting the following urgently as a prerequisite to prepare and attend the eighth AGM:

“Minutes of the last seven AGMs, shareholder and attendance registers of the same meetings, copies of adverts of the last meeting, previous audited accounts and proxy form to enable our foreign-based clients to appoint representatives to attend and if required to cast votes on their behalf.

“Our clients are also proposing that the venue of the meeting be changed to a neutral one seeing that the proposed venue is a private property owned by Keni Mubaiwa, the current chairperson of the executive where right of admission might be reserved to the prejudice of other shareholders who might be viewed as sharing different views to the current executive.”

Marriot has openly declared that he would not allow Kamba and company to attend Sunday’s meeting, labelling the group as “street people”, who have no right to be involved in the affairs of the Glamour Boys.

“Contrary to claims by our colleague Marriot, there is no provision in the Dynamos statutes for possible sole proprietorship. Instead, the constitution is very loud and clear in clause 5:11 and clause 10:1.3 which states that ‘only former and founder players have the right to attend and vote at the AGM’,” Kamba said.

“It is against this background that we legally insist that all former Dynamos players are eligible to attend the forthcoming AGM, including any other in the future. Denying them to do so would be a serious violation of their rights and that must not be allowed.

“The constitution promotes unity of purpose and discipline. Like Marriot, all former players equally sacrificed and made enormous contributions in making the club the brand it is today. So allow them to exercise their right to vote come January 22.”

Kamba said the Dynamos leadership revolves and succession is in perpetuity since there are over 60 former players who should be allowed to vote at the AGM.

“We do not subscribe to personal aggrandisement at the expense of the club. Indeed it would be gross negligence on our part as former players to watch from the sidelines while the club and its huge brand crumbles into ashes as one arrogant individual falsely masquerades as the sole owner,” he said.

“The above list is irrefutable evidence of the existing former players who must vote to decide the future of the club.

“It is a reality that these former players exist; Marriot must not attempt to misrepresent history.

“A sizeable number of these guys are living in the Diaspora and would vote by proxy.

“We value all former players hence updating registration of the same, remains an ongoing exercise to ensure the register carries all players in the end.”

List of some former Dynamos players: George Shaya, Enerst Kamba, Moses Chunga, Sunday and Misheck Chidzambwa, David Mandigora, Desmond Maringwa, Biggie Zuze, Laban Kandi, Angirayi Chapo, Shadreck Ngwenya, Memory Mucherahowa, Vitalis Takawira, David George, Kaitano Tembo, Ignatious Kapfunde, Willard Sarupinda, Charles Gwatidzo, Cremio Mapfumo, Isaac Nhema, Isidore Sagwete, Joseph Tsuro, Owen Chandamwale, Simon Sachiti, Peter Huni, Richard Chihoro, Erick Aisam, Martin Kalambayi, Lincoln Mutasa, Arthur Mushangazhike, July Sharara, Givemore Motsi, Lazarus Magwenzi, David Phiri, Kembo Chunga, Maxwell Makanza, Henry Chari, Garikai Zuze, Stanley Chirambadare, Elvis Chiweshe, Clayton Munemo, Ian Gorowa, Masimba Dinyero, Mike Chipembere, Naison Muchekela, Chamunoda Musanhu, Oscar Muringayi, Obey Svova, Bheki Mlotswa, Tauya Murehwa, Peter Fanwell, Ford Chitakatira, Taurai Mngwiro, Claudius Zviripayi, Kalisto Pasuwa, Ralph Kawondera, Makwinji Soma Phiri, Uziel Mankola, Tendai Ndemera, Enerst Masango, Ernest Chirambadar, Leo Kurauzvione, Reuben Musambudzi, Samson Choruwa, Lovemore Sibanda.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.