Chiyangwa eyes Cosafa posts

HARARE - While he is at the centre of a football saga back home, Zifa president Philip Chiyangwa is hoping to become the new boss of the Cosafa region for the next five years.

Chiyangwa is going against the incumbent Suketu Patel from Seychelles and South African Football Association (Safa) president Danny Jordaan for the top post.

Cosafa will hold its Annual General Meeting (AGM) today in Rustenburg, South Africa where elections will be held to decide the positions of president, vice-president and for the executive Committee for the next five years.

Curiously, Chiyangwa has also entered his name for the vice-presidency and the executive committee positions.

With only a year in mainstream football administration, the Harare businessman and politician believes he can turn round the fortunes of the regional block made up by 14 southern African countries.

The game in Zimbabwe is currently at crossroads as Zifa is currently embroiled in a nasty fallout with the Premier Soccer League which has spilled to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Switzerland.

It is not immediately clear how this dark cloud in Zimbabwean football will affect Chiyangwa’s chances of landing a seat on the Cosafa executive board. 

The Cosafa media officer Lynda Greeff said all is now set for the elections.

“Elections will be held to decide the positions of President, Vice-President and for the Executive Committee,” she said.

“Three nominations for the position of president were received prior to the November 2 deadline. These are for incumbent...Patel, Safa president... Jordaan and Zifa president...Chiyangwa.

“There are also three nominees for the position of Vice-President, Advocate Salemane Phafane from Lesotho, Frans Mbidi of Namibia and...Chiyangwa.

“A vote will also be held to appoint members to the Executive Committee, with the nominations as follows: General Pedro Neto (Angola), Mclean Letshwidi (Botswana), David Fani (Botswana), Walter Nyamilandu-Manda (Malawi), Sameer Sobha (Mauritius), Alberto Simanga (Mozambique), John Muinjo (Namibia), Dr Danny Jordaan (South Africa), Timothy Shongwe (Swaziland), Andrew Kamanga (Zambia)...Chiyangwa (Zimbabwe).

“A media briefing will be held following the AGM where the results of the elections will be announced.”

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.