Mpofu named in Test squad

HARARE - Zimbabwe  Cricket has named a 20-member squad for the two-match home Tests series against Sri Lanka, with the first match scheduled to begin on October 29, at Harare Sports Club.

Matabeleland Tuskers’ seamer Chris Mpofu was named in the squad following his impressive bowling display in the first unofficial Test match against Pakistan A last week where he picked three wickets in the first innings.

The 30-year-old quick’s last Test match for Zimbabwe was five years ago against New Zealand in Bulawayo.

He finished with figures of five wickets for 146 runs in 48 overs in Zimbabwe’s 34- run defeat against the Kiwis.

Also making a return is Mid West Rhinos all-rounder Malcolm Waller, who last featured in this longer format for the national side in 2014 against Bangladesh in Khulna.

He was rewarded for his half century (87 runs) in the second innings of the drawn four-day match against the visiting Pakistan A.

The national selectors have also named upcoming youngsters and Mid West Rhinos duo of batsman Tarisai Musakanda and seamer Carl Mumba, who have shown glimpses of brilliance.

Mumba picked two wickets against Pakistan A in the second and final unofficial Test at Queens Sports Club while Musakanda was the mainstay of the locals’ batting with 87 runs in the second innings albeit in a losing cause.

Seamers Tendai Chatara and Njabulo Ncube are the two players who have been axed from the squad that played against New Zealand recently.

Meanwhile, the Zimbabwe A lost to Pakistan A by eight wickets on the final day of the match after collapsing in their second innings for 202 runs in 75.2 overs in response to the visitors’ first innings lead of 166 runs.

The hosts had reached 346 runs after batting first with opener Brian Chari (118) and Sean Williams (112) both scoring centuries up the order.

Brian Vitori picked three wickets in Pakistan’s first innings while Mumba and John Nyumbu grabbed two apiece and when the match seemingly appeared headed for another draw, Zimbabwe somehow connived to throw away their wickets without fight with only the exception of Musakanda (87), and Williams’ (42) being the only form of resistance.

Zimbabwe Test Squad: Graeme Cremer, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Hamilton Masakadza, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Prince Masvaure, Carl Mumba, Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza Butt, Malcolm Waller, John Nyumbu, Christopher Mpofu, Regis Chakabva, Richmond Mutumbami, Brian Vitori, Donald Tiripano, Peter J. Moyo, Brian Chari, Taurai Muzarabani, Tarisai Musakanda.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.