Dombojena, Chokore prevail

HARARE - Portipher Dombojena and Lizih Chokore came out tops in the men’s and women’s categories of the inaugural PPC Cement 42km Marathon held in the capital yesterday.

Dombojena crossed the finish line in a time of 2:21:12 while Lyno Muchena was in second place with 2:21:24. Jonathan Chinyoka finished third when he clocked a time of 2:22:38

Dombojena, who finished fifth at this year’s Two Oceans Marathon in Cape Town, was naturally elated with his victory which netted him a cheque of $1 000.

“I’m very happy mainly because of this trophy which I’m holding in my hands,” Dombojena said as he clutched his winner’s trophy.

“The money will come and go but I will still have this trophy to show the next generation that I won this race.”

The Harare Athletics Club runner nearly failed to take part in the marathon after suffering from  an upset stomach since Friday but he soldiered on to beat a competitive line up.

“It was a two-day running stomach and I struggled a lot. I’m glad I finished the race and winning it is a bonus. Our club does not record excuses, they want a result. All I wanted today was to achieve a result.”              

In the women’s race, Chokore finished almost six minutes ahead of her closest rival when she came home in a time of 2:56:41.

Veteran long distance runner Samukeliso Moyo was in second place with a time of 3:02:15 while Monica Kativhu clocked 3:06:01.

“I’m on top of the world because I never thought I was going to win today’s race. The competition was very tough because the field was very strong,” Chokore said.

“I was aiming to finish in the top five but I’m glad with the grace of God I ended up finishing first.

“The other runners were holding back because of the heat but I just set the pace from the start and they were not able to catch up.”

In the men’s 21,1km marathon, Canicious Nyamutsita was the winner with a time of 1:01:45 while in second place Tendai Zimuto arrived home in 1:01:59. Waison Blessing was in third place with a time of 1:02:25.

In the women’s category, Constance Nyasango finished in first place with a time of 1:15:35 and was followed home by Chiedza Chokore on 1:16:33. Third place went to Patience Murowe with a time of 1:16:45.

In the 21,1km men’s wheelchair category, first place went to Danhiko’s Elford Moyo with a time of 52:07 while Samson Muroiwa was second in 56:09. Third place was claimed by Munyaradzi Katiyo with a time of 57:08.

In the women’s section, Thandiwe Ndlovu claimed first place inside 1:13:29 followed by Margaret Bangajena (1:14:41) and Moleen Majoni (1:19:00).

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.