Zim in Africa T20 semis

HARARE - Zimbabwe  XI qualified for the 2016 Africa T20 Cup semi-finals following elimination draw in East London, South Africa on Sunday.

The Africa T20 Cup is a Twenty20 cricket tournament hosted by Cricket South Africa featuring 13 South African provincial teams and national sides of Kenya, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

The tournament serves as a curtain raiser to the 2016-2017 South African domestic season.

The Steve Mangongo-coached emerging side had lost their Pool C opening match against Free State by seven wickets at Buffalo Park having set a decent score of 149/8 after batting first.

Batsman Ryan Murray, who was part of Zimbabwe U19 World Cup squad last year, top scored with 34 runs from 22 balls while a host of other batsmen also made positive starts but failed to convert them into match-winning big scores.

The team also let their opponents off the hook for a number of times as they dropped several catches.

The Zimbabweans however, secured an elimination round ticket after four matches in Pool C were washed out by rain without a ball having been bowled and according to the rules of the tournament when such a scenario happens, they have to go for the elimination round.

“In the event that 4 (four) or more of the matches in a weekend are recorded as a “no result”, all matches played will be declared null and void. In this instance an elimination process will be implemented,” Reads the tournament rules.

“This will be done by an elimination draw commencing with all four teams participating in the initial draw, with one team being eliminated.

“The second elimination draw will be between the remaining three teams, with one of the teams being eliminated. The third and final elimination draw will be between the last two teams, with the winner progressing through to the finals weekend.”

The tournament started on September 2 and is expected to run until the second of next month.

Zimbabwe XI squad:

George Banda, William Mashinge, Peter Joseph Moor, Shingirai Masakadza (capt), Jeremy Ives, Ryan Murray, Tendai Maruma, Timycen Maruma, Brendon Mavuta, Wellington Masakadza, Rugare Magarira, Bothwell Chapungu, Richard Ngarava, Reserves: Milton Shumba, Dion Mazhawidza.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.