Zifa appoint key committees

HARARE - The Zimbabwe Football Association (Zifa) yesterday announced office barriers for their various key standing committees.

Crucially, Zifa now have standing referees committee which will be responsible for selecting match officials for the various leagues across the country.

The previous referees’ committee had been dissolved following Zifa’s dissolution to form the National Football Association of Zimbabwe in June.

However, Nafaz suffered a stillbirth after the High Court refused to grant Zifa’s application for liquidation.

Since there had been no substantive referees committee with first the Premier Soccer League secretariat selecting match officials.

This arrangement created an outcry with a number of clubs questioning the PSL’s role in selecting match officials.

After the outcry, Zifa president Philip Chiyangwa took over the role with his secretariat but it still created problems with teams threatening not to recognise all the results of matches played under the current setup.

Chiyangwa will be the chairperson of the Zifa referees committee and will be deputised by former Fifa panel referee Gladmore Muzambi.

The other members of the committee are Kainos Mavhuna, Japhet Mufiri, Thabani Mkanjo and Musa Ntonga.

Zifa also appointed a technical development committee which will be chaired by the association’s vice president Omega Sibanda with its members including Gibson Homela, Nelson Matongorere, Wisdom Simba, Tumediso Ndlovu, Bheki Nyoni and Rosemary Mugadza.

The finance committee will be chaired by treasurer Philemon Machana who will be assisted by Brighton Malandule, Kuziwa Nyabeza, Lifa Ncube and Gilbert Saika.

The competitions committee comprises Piraishe Mabhena who is the chairperson, Gaylord Madhunguza vice chairperson, Thomas Marambanyika, Sweeney Mushonga and Farai Rutsvara.

Sibanda will again chair the human resources committee which also consists of Martin Kweza who is the vice chairperson, Judah Tshuma, Patrick Hill and Lovemore Matikinyidze.

The Zifa high performance committee will again be chaired by Sibanda alongside former Warriors coach Sunday Chidzambwa, Innocent Chogugudza, Rahman Gumbo, Moses Chunga and Masimba Chihowa.

Interim Women Football Committee will be chaired by Elizabeth Langaand and she will be assisted by Cecilia Gambe with Ntonga, Beaula Msarah and Rosemary Muzvidziwa making up the committee.

Chiyangwa also gave a roadmap that will see a substantive women’s football board elected into office.

“It is the considered view that Zifa ensures an elaborate women soccer development programme that will see the girl child receive proper and due support,” he said.

“Women football is forever under contestation and in order to bring an end to power contestations, I have decided that elections be held in October 2016.”


Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.