Costa wins big

HARARE - Reigning Ms Universe Figure Hellen Costa  was last night crowned Zimbabwe’s Sportsperson of the Year at the Annual National Sports Awards dinner gala that was not without controversy.

The two-time Zimbabwe Fitness Figure champion was one of the few uncontested winners on a night of surprises as she rightfully walked away with the biggest prize.

Costa has had an unforgettable year that was capped by a scintillating show at the World Mr and Miss Universe in Italy where she scooped the IBFF Ms International Fitness Figure and Ms Universe Figure.

Yesterday she claimed Zimbabwe’s most prized individual accolade after shrugging off stiff competition from swimming sensation Kirsty Coventry, rowing’s Micheen Thornycroft and boxer Charles Manyuchi.

The reigning World Boxing Council welterweight champion had earlier bagged the Sportsman of the Year for a second successive time edging out karatekas Tangai Mhlanga and Admire Chingozhoro in the process.

The Team of the Year award was perhaps the biggest surprise of the night as it went to the country’s senior women’s netball team.

Take nothing away from the Ledwin Dondo-coached side, who rose to become the new African Champions following their gritty performance in Botswana earlier this year, many felt the Mighty Warriors’ Rio Olympics qualification was a step ahead.

Not only that, but the circumstances of the Mighty Warriors’ triumph against the backdrop of countless monetary barriers had them winning rev reviews.

But if yesterday’s awards are anything to go by then it seems the Mighty Warriors will have to win a gold medal at the Rio Olympics if they entertain any chance of bagging the Ansa Team of The Year award next year.

However, for Shadreck Mulauzi’s side, they are also in contention for Team of the Year in all of Africa following their nomination for the prestigious Caf award which will be staged early next year in Abuja, Nigeria.

It would be a moment to savour should they bag the continental award ahead of South Africa and Cameroon, who are the other nominees.

Again, contentiously motocross rider Tanyaradzwa Muzinda landed the Junior Sportsperson of the Year gong somehow shrugging off the competition of rowing’s Kyle Hinde, who had earlier landed the Junior Sportsman of the Year award.

Hinde qualified for the Youth Olympics in Nanjing in 2014 and World Championships in Chicago.

He is also one of a handful of Zimbabweans who have qualified for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games but it was not to be his night.

In the end the 11-year-old young female motocross rider, who finished seventh at the FIM Motocross of African Nations Championships at Donnybrook claimed the honours.

It could have been that her nomination as the Zimbabwe International Women Awards Sportsman of the Year carried her home.

Surprisingly, her name was missing from the list of nominees submitted by Zimbabwe Motosport Federation but fortunately for her she was included through the Sports and Recreation Commission’s “tracking system”.

Five yester-year heroes were inducted into the Hall of Fame being Bernard Dzoma — athletics, Patricia Molly Pretorius — tennis, Gay Alison Erskine for squash, John Keyter for swimming and Zimbabwe’s first European football export Freddie Karamba Mkwesha.

Annual National Sports Awards Finalists

Junior Sports Woman Of The Year

Tanyaradzwa Muzinda – Motocross

Junior Sportsman Of The Year

Kyle Hinde – Rowing

Junior Sports Woman Of The Year With A Disability

Nyasha Karima – Athletics T13 Special Olympics

Junior Sportsman Of The Year With A Disability

Michael Mudyanadzo – Golf Special Olympics

Sports Woman Of The Year With A Disability

Dadirai Jack – Golf Special Olympics

Sports Woman Of The Year

Helen Costa - Bodybuilding

Sports Man Of The Year

Charles Manyuchi – Boxing

Sportsman Of The Year With A Disability

Lucky Chitembe –Athletics T12

Team Of The Year

Senior Netball Team

Coach Of The Year

Ledwin Dondo – Coach Senior Netball Team

Technical Official Of The Year

Joyce Muchenu – Basketball

Sports Administration Of The Year

Zimbabwe Karate Union

Sport Development Of The Year

Zimbabwe Karate Union

Women In Sport Award

Mary Kloppers: Zimbabwe Aquatic Union (Swimming and Water Polo)

Special Acknowledgement Award

Zimplats, City of Harare, Daniel Moyo, Plan Zimbabwe Kwekwe, Stanlous Nyachowe

Junior Sports Person Of The Year

Tanyaradzwa Muzinda –


Sportsperson Of The Year

Helen Costa Sinclair — Bodybuilding

Hall of Fame

Bernard Dzoma –Athletics, Patricia Molly Pretorius – Tennis, Gay Alison Erskine – Squash, John Keyter – Swimming, Freddie Mkwesha – Football.


Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.