ZC hold electoral AGM

HARARE - Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) will hold their electoral Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Harare Sports Club Chairman’s Enclosure this afternoon.

Interim chairman, Wilson Manase has emerged as the front runner to win a fresh mandate since taking over from former board chairman Peter Chingoka in July last year.

In a short period of one year, Manase with the help of his board has been able to reduce ZC’s debt that stood at $22million to only $7 million.

The Harare lawyer has also been able to tie down ZC to a lucrative eight-year endorsement deal with Bangladesh’s Total Sports Marketing(TSM), who will hold the country’s television broadcasting as well as sponsorship rights until 2023.

“I do have several goals as a leader which include the short-term which is to avoid the qualification in Bangladesh for the 2019 World Cup which means we have to be at number eight by December 2017 well ahead of the February 2018 cut-off date for the play-offs,” Manase told the Daily News yesterday.

“We are currently in 11th position, five points behind 10th placed Ireland which is a pity, but I’m convinced it won’t be for long and we have to achieve around 100 points from the current 45 that we have in order for us to be in eighth place which is a huge task but achievable.

“The long-term goal is to be ranked fifth or sixth by 2020 and my biggest dream is to bring the World Cup trophy in 2023.

“All this could be made possible because we have laid-off some of the challenges that we had to TSM such as financial instability.

“We will now be financially stable and the issue of not having to play more games; we can now play as many games both at home and away.”

Manase will likely run uncontested for the post of chairman.

While interim ZC vice-chairperson Maureen Kuchocha, Slyvester Matshaka, Matemayi Bauren, Mainos Mudukuti, Rajan Nayer, Elisha Kandi, Lincoln Bhila and Tavengwa Mukuhlani will be vying for the other executive posts.

A total of five provincial board chairpersons also made it past the nomination court and will be in the running for ZC board posts.

These are Arthur Maposa (Matabeleland South), Fiona Ndlovu (Matabeleland North), Enock Ikope (Harare), Bornface Machuwaire (Masvingo) and Wonder Chisango (Mashonaland East).

The nomination court disqualified four board chairpersons Paul Mungofa (Mashonaland West), Charles Office (Midlands), Square Square (Manicaland) and Vumindaba Moyo (Bulawayo) for various reasons.

Mashonaland Central chairperson William Chaitezvi’s fate was set to be decided by the nomination court last night.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.