Mukanya cancels Danger Zone Tour

HARARE - Chimurenga music legend Thomas “Mukanya” Mapfumo’s tour of South Africa scheduled for next week has been postponed due to the failure by some members of the veteran musician’s backing group to secure travel documents.

As part of the highly-anticipated tour dubbed “Danger Zone,” the United States of America-based artiste was billed to perform at Bassline Jazz Club in Johannesburg on March 27 and at the Dragon Room (Opium) in Cape Town the following day.

In both gigs, Mukanya, who was set to promote his latest album Danger Zone, was supposed to share the stage with controversial Zimdancehall star Soul Jah Love.

The cancellation of the tour, jointly organised by Mapfumo’s Chimurenga Music Company in conjunction with South Africa-based Jimmy Jimalo Entertainment, was announced on the Chimurenga music legend’s Facebook page.

“Chimurenga Music Company (CMC), on behalf of Thomas Mapfumo and the Blacks Unlimited and Jimmy Jimalo Entertainment would like to express sincere regret over the inevitable last minute cancellation of performances that were scheduled for March 27 (Johannesburg) and 28 (Cape Town) in South Africa,” read part of the Facebook post.

“Despite thorough preparations for the trip, a glitch emerged due to delay in the release of travel documents for some of the band members.

“While concerted efforts are still underway to secure the release of the travel documents, there is no guarantee that the documents could be timely (sic) available before the scheduled dates.”

CMC added that they have been forced to cancel the tour “to avoid further prejudice and inconvenience to all fans.”

Mapfumo’s publicist, Blessing Vava, also confirmed the development in an interview with the Daily News yesterday.

“The situation was beyond our control but we have resolved to push the event to end of May this year,” he said.

Mapfumo’s latest 12-track album Danger Zone which was supposed to be promoted during the South African tour, was launched at the Book Cafe in Harare on February 17.

Some of the songs that make up the 12-track album are the title track Danger Zone, Zimbabwe, Chikwereti, Shebeen, Music, Varimudande, Nhamo Urombo, Hatidi Politics Celebrate, Are You Ready and Pasi Idandaro.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.