ZGA name Africa Zone VI team

HARARE - Zimbabwe Golf Association (ZGA) has named a provisional squad to represent the country at the forthcoming Africa Zone VI Golf Championship set for Uganda in April.

The continental event will be hosted at the par-72 Uganda Golf Club (UGC) Kitante course and Zimbabwe’s team is made up of 10 leading amateurs on the ZGA order of merit.

Leading the side is Tonderayi Masunga who captained the national team to victory at the inaugural Africa Golf Confederation President’s Cup in Zambia last year.

A lot will also be expected from Stuart Krog who has represented Zimbabwe in several tournaments whilst there is also a place for Thembelani Vundla who finished fourth at the Julius Robinson Tournament.

Also making it to the squad are Doctor Maphosa, Visitor Mapwanya, Kieran Vincent, Pride Sembo, David Amm, John Milazi and Howard Bauti.

The players are expected to begin training for the event on March 30 at Sherwood Golf Club in Harare.

South Africa (SA) are currently the defending champions of the Africa Zone VI Golf Championship having won the event 19 times since 1995.

SA hosted the tournament at Devonvale Golf Estate in Cape Town last year and retained their title with 23 points, finishing four points ahead of Zimbabwe who had Krog and Jack Allard to thank for the some impressive performances.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.