ICC reprimand Chatara

CANBERRA - Zimbabwe seamer Tendai Chatara was reprimanded by the International Cricket Council (ICC) yesterday for bowling two successive dangerous deliveries at West Indies record breaker Chris Gayle in their World Cup clash.

The incident happened in the 50th over of the West Indies innings at Canberra's Manuka Oval on Tuesday when Chatara bowled a second consecutive high, full-pitched ball to Gayle, after being given a first and final warning by on-field umpire Ian Gould after his previous delivery.

The fast bowler was hauled out of the attack as a result and reported to the ICC match referee for dangerous and unfair bowling.

“In determining the sanction, I took into account the mitigating factor of the wet ball which could have resulted in the bowler not being able to have complete control of the deliveries," said match referee Roshan Mahanama who handed out the reprimand. – Agencies

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.