Zim hosts Water Polo Championships

HARARE - Zimbabwe will host the first Cana Zone IV Youth Water Polo Championships at the Chisipite Senior School in Harare on Saturday.

In Southern Africa, only Zimbabwe and neighbours South Africa take part in water polo at a competitive level.

The South African squad which comprises of Boys and Girls A and B teams in the 18 and under categories are expected to arrive in Harare today.

The Zimbabwe Aquatic Union (Zau) is organising the competition in conjunction with Zimbabwe Water Polo Board (ZWPB).

Zau president Marry Kloppers said: “This is a new development in the Zone, with Zimbabwe leading the way.  Both Zimbabwe and South Africa will be fielding Boys and Girls A and B teams in the Under-18s. It is the vision that other countries such as Zambia, Botswana etc will develop water polo in their countries so that they too can compete.

“Many of the players in both the Zim and SA teams are in preparation for next years' African Qualifiers for the World Youth Water Polo Champs.

“The Zimbabwean players have a huge task ahead of them.  The Water Polo board is to be commended for their efforts and we wish our Zim players all the very best.    

“New Fina rules for youth which mean reduced team size to 11, reduced pool size and reduced ball size will be played for the first time ever.”

Kloppers added: “The  idea  for  this  tournament  was  developed  at  the  Cana  Zone  IV  Workshop  and  AGM  in  2013,  based  on  the  Cana  Zone  IV  Swimming  Championships,  which  have  been  held  regularly  for  almost  10  years  now.  

“Regrettably,  and  partially  due  to  last  year's  Africa  Youth  Qualifying  event  in  South  Africa,  we  did  not  host  the  tournament  in  2014.    

“However,  Zimbabwe  has  now  got  the  ball  rolling  and  set  the  bar,  and  it  is  my  sincere  hope  that  this  competition  will  continue  to  grow  and  develop  to  include  other  countries  in  Zone  IV  in  the  near  future. 

“We  welcome  our  neighbours,  South  Africa,  and  trust  you  will  have  an  enjoyable  visit  to  our  beautiful  country.”


Zim Boys A: Aidan Carrelo, Brent Michelson, Dudley Lenton, Federico Bescotti, Chad Koschke, Aiden Burnett, Levi Fargnoli, Rhyder Quinlan, Ryan Mitchell, Tim Smith, Aidan Onorati. 

Coach: Craig Kesson, Assistant Coach: Chris Davidson 

Zim Boys B: Robert Zeelie, Thomas Reid, Callum Du Plessis, Graham Shepherd, Ross Oatley, Ryan Hounsell, Ryan Rusch, Christopher Tomlinson, Bersal Williams, Daniel Landrey, Travis Landing 

Coach: Brendon Werrett, Assistant Coach: Johan Kloppers 

Zim Girls A: Savannah Melvin, Nicole Wallace, Bree Caterall, Tyla Walters, Courtney Pritchard, Ocean Smith, Hayley Smith, Emma Balneaves, Sydne  Cockroft, Jodie  Lightfoot, Dayna York   

Coach: Rob Hammond, Assistant Coach: Dan Amira 

Zim Girls B: Chelsea Karimazondo, Megan Keefe, Sam Mare, Jaimee Maidwell, Rachel  Jeans, Kim Balneaves, Chelsea Watson, Tash Gibbs, Christina Lividatakis, Bryley Rosenfels, Melissa Viljoen. 

Coach: Tyrone Jardine, Assistant Coach: Sarah Shonfeld

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.