New Haitian government announced

PORT-AU-PRINCE - Haiti's President Michel Martelly has announced the formation of a new government amid renewed protests calling for his resignation.

On his Facebook page, the president listed 18 ministers and 16 secretaries of state to be sworn in on Monday.

He kept several current cabinet members in their posts and appointed some of his allies to key positions.

His announcement comes after the dissolution of parliament last Tuesday and weeks of political uncertainty.

Following anti-government demonstrations in the capital Port-au-Prince on Friday, President Martelly told demonstrators he had reached a deal with the opposition to form a consensus government within 48 hours.

On Sunday, he published on his Facebook page (in French) the full list of ministers and secretaries of state who are to deliver their oath of office on Monday.

Among them are members of the current cabinet, including the ministers for foreign affairs, defence, public works, health, tourism and education.

The list also shows the appointment of several of his allies to key positions, such as new Planning Minister Yves Germain Joseph and Secretary of State for Public Security Carel Alexandre.

Last week a US-brokered deal to extend the life of parliament and call new elections failed when parts of the opposition refused to approve it.

Parliament was dissolved on Tuesday after its term expired, leaving Haiti without a functioning government.

The opposition accuses Mr Martelly of abusing his powers and forcing a political deadlock in order to rule the country by presidential decree.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.