Pasuwa chose Ronaldo

HARARE - Young Warriors coach Calisto Pasuwa picked Real Madrid and Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo for the 2014 Fifa Ballon D’Or award.

According to voting results published by the world football governing body yesterday, Pasuwa had Ronaldo as his first choice, followed by Barcelona and Argentina captain Lionel Messi while Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure was third.

Ronaldo went on to win the crown beating Messi and Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer to lift his third Ballon D’Or award – his second consecutive win.

The 29-year old won the award with 37.66 percent of the votes while Messi came in second with 15.76 percent with Neuer came in a close third with 15.72 percent.

After winning the Fifa World Player of the Year award in 2008, when he was still a Manchester United player, Ronaldo took second place on the podium in 2009, 2011 and 2012 but has now has retained the Ballon d’Or courtesy of two magical seasons with Madrid.

The players were voted for by the captains of all countries which are member associations of Fifa, their coaches, and a media representative.

FC Platinum midfielder Wisdom Mutasa, who voted as the country’s captain chose Ronaldo on first place followed by Messi and Chelsea and Belgium winger Eden Hazard completed his list.

Media personnel Charles Mabika had Ronaldo in first place, Messi in second and had Germany and Bayern Munich defender Philip Lahm on third place.

For Coach of the Year, Pasuwa and Mabika were united for Loew Joachim, who managed to assemble a historical team that saw Germany win the Fifa World Cup for the first time in 24 years.

Mutasa had however, settled for Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho.

Fifa has released the list of all the votes cast during the voting process. The first choice gets 5 points, the second choice gets 3 points while the third and final choice gets 1 point. The points are then added to reveal the final winner.

Meanwhile, Pasuwa cleared the air regarding why Mutasa voted on the poll ahead of CAPS United’s Ronald Pfumbidzayi.

“Wisdom Mutasa is the current captain of the under 23 team which is currently fulfilling all senior national team duties hence he had every right to vote in the Ballon d’Or as the senior national team captain,” said Pasuwa.

“The appointment of the team captain is the prerogative of the coach therefore all the hullabaloo is uncalled for since nothing is amiss.”

In the World XI category, the international players’ union FIFPro invited 24,000 pros around the world to vote. They came up with a starting XI of Manuel Neuer (Germany) in goal; David Luiz (Brazil), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Sergio Ramos (Spain) and Thiago Silva (Brazil) in defence; Ángel Di María (Argentina), Andrés Iniesta (Spain) and Toni Kroos (Germany) in midfield; and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Lionel Messi (Argentina) and Arjen Robben (Holland) in attack.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.