Williams keen to be main spinner

HARARE - All-rounder Sean Williams says he is ready to step in the shoes of Prosper Utseya as Zimbabwe’s main spin bowler at next year’s World Cup. 

29-year-old off-spinner Utseya was this week cleared to bowl in international cricket again by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after he was earlier suspended for an illegal bowling action.

Utseya, however, will not be allowed to bowl off-spin after his action was condemned by the world cricket governing body. 

In the wake of that development, Williams, who was left out of the recent disastrous tour of Bangladesh, has raised up his hand to lead Zimbabwe’s spin attack at the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The 28-year-old Matabeleland Tuskers star was included in Zimbabwe’s provisional 30-man World Cup squad and is now hoping to make the final 15 touring party.

“Obviously a great feeling (to be selected) but still a long way to go before the tournament,” Williams told the Daily News yesterday.

“I would love to have an opportunity to be the main spinner, but I still have a lot to learn and also I have to make the playing 11 first.”

Williams, meanwhile, says he has got over his omission from the Bangladesh tour. Williams was dropped by coach Stephen Mangongo on disciplinary grounds, sparking an uproar from fans who opposed the decision.

“Mangongo and I always get on well I have no hard feelings about being dropped,” said Williams.

“I had the opportunity to play franchise and score some runs. I haven’t spoken to him since he has been back. At the moment, I just want to continue improving on my game with both bat and ball and hopefully put up big scores together and take my chances when they come.”

Provisional Squad: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tino Mawoyo,  Solomon Mire, Peter Moor, Tawanda Mupariwa, Natsai M’shangwe, Cuthbert Musoko, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor,  Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams, Cephas Zhuwao.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.