Butterphly, JJ storm into final

HARARE - Zimbabwe, represented by DJ Butterphly and JJ, is the only country with two housemates in the running for the $300 000 Big Brother Africa prize whose winner will be unveiled on Sunday.

The two Zimbabweans will battle it out for the big prize with Idris (Tanzania), M’am Bea (Ghana), Macky2 (Zambia), Nhlanhla (South Africa), Sipe (Malawi) and Tayo (Nigeria).

JJ’s inclusion in the final eight has come as no surprise to fans and housemates alike.

From day one, he was touted as one of the favourites for the top prize of Big Brother Africa Season Nine.

But for Butterphly, who had been heavily-tipped to make an early exit from the reality show, reaching the final week of the competition against all odds is a victory in itself.

The Power FM DJ started the reality show on a low note.

She got the lowest vote from viewers in the first week of the reality show but thereafter was rarely nominated because fellow housemates did not consider her a threat.

While Butterphly was rarely on the chopping block, JJ had to survive wave after wave of nominations to make it to the final week.

Last week, five housemates were tied on one country vote apiece after Africa voted, so the tie-breaker rule came into effect, sending the four contestants with the lowest percentage vote for all countries, home.

Since JJ picked up a higher percentage vote, he was spared and sent into the final.

Conversely, Tayo picked up the most country votes (four), followed by Idris (three) and Sipe (two).

Sipe won the StarMeter prize this week on the back of the question: “Which of the Big Brother Hotshots housemates do you think has what it takes to win?”.

Big Brother celebrated the work done by the Friends of the Global Fund Africa this week, naming them as winners of the $100 000 ONE Africa Award — in keeping with the housemates’ theme for the past week.

Ugandan Reggae & Ragga star Bebe Cool performed Love You Everyday and Fally Ipupa almost brought the house down with Original.

Voting opened immediately after Sunday’s eviction show and will run until next Sunday.

Voters must now choose who of JJ, Tayo, Idris, Butterphly, Macky2, Sipe, Nhlanhla and M’am Bea they want to win Big Brother Hotshots.

Comments (2)

Good luck hazvitipe panyo izvi!!! mnxiiii

John Madhir' - 2 December 2014

fuck this bba my ass

linx ting - 5 December 2014

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.