Ansa shortlist unveiled

HARARE - Tennis ace Cara Black and top boxer Charles Manyuchi are front-runners to win the 2014 Sportsperson of the Year gong after they were shortlisted for the Annual National Sports Awards yesterday.

Black, who recorded 49 wins in 2014 with her Indian partner Sania Mirza, has a high chance of winning the country’s premier individual sports award for second year on the trot.

The 35-year-old, who has over 50 WTA titles under her belt, rose to world number four on the doubles rankings after clinching the WTA Tour Finals doubles title with Mirza in Singapore last month.

She has won the Zimbabwean Sportsperson Award on four previous occasions and is currently tied with swimming star Kirsty Coventry, who has also bagged the award the same number of times.

In the Sports Woman of the Year category, Black will face stiff competition from long distance athlete Ruteno Nyahora and golfer Yollander Mubaiwa.

On the other hand, Manyuchi is another strong candidate to win the Sportsperson of the Year award after he successfully defended his WBC International welterweight title against Colombia’s David Caceres via a TKo at the weekend.

The victory took Manyuchi’s professional record to 15 wins, two losses and one draw.

In the Sportsman of the Year award category, Manyuchi will be running against golfer Scott Vincent and karateka Winston Nyanhete.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced at a banquet to be held on December 17 in the capital.  

Junior Sports Woman of the Year

Damiella Du Toit (rowing), Enarita Ncube (athletics), Rebekah Oberholzer (BMX)

Junior Sportsman of the Year

Cameron Hinde (rowing), Raphael Mukondiwa (karate), Michael Williams (triathlon).

Junior Sports Woman of the Year with a Disability

Patriciaa Bhebhe (athletics), Talent Kasera (athletics), Ashley Matanhire (athletics).

Junior Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Lovemore Chimufombo (athletics), Batanayi Muroyiwa (athletics), Munyaradzi Musariri (Intellectual golf).

Sportswoman of the Year

Cara Black (tennis), Rutendo Nyahora (athletics), Yollander Mubaiwa (golf).

Sportsman of the Year

Charles Manyuchi (boxing), Winston Nyanhete (karate), Scott Vincent (golf).

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability

Margret Bangajena (Wheelchair racing), Magadaline Madzivire (Wheelchair racing), Thandiwe Ndlovu (Wheelchair racing)

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Viren Mehta (intellectual golf), Elford Moyo (Wheelchair racing), Samson Muroyiwa (wheelchair racing)

Team of the Year

Davis Cup Team, Junior Golf Team, Zimbabwe Darts women team.

Coach of the Year

Martin Dzuwa (Davis Cup Team), Dhlamini Mtonzima (darts), Phillip Tshuma (Junior Golf Team).

Technical Official of the Year 

Rick Fulton (triathlon), Joyce Muchenu (basketball), Patrick Mukondiwa (boxing)

Women in Sport Award

Eugenia Chidhakwa (tertiary sports), Ginny Rose (hockey), Lyn Swanepoel (rowing).

Sports Administrator of the Year

Basketball Union of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe Ladies Golf Union, Zimbabwe Karate Union.

Sports Development of the Year

Bowls Zimbabwe, National Darts Association of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe Karate Union.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.