All set for Soccer Stars selection

HARARE - Following an intriguing 2014 Castle Lager Premiership season, a panel of experts that includes sports writers will convene in the capital today to select the finalists for the Soccer Star of the Year Awards.

The voting process will this year move along with technology by using a secret computerised electronic ballot.

The electronic voting system will be supervised by a panel of experts that will include media house editors, football stakeholders as well as Delta Beverages internal and external audit firms.

Club captains and coaches of the 16 PSL clubs will join 30 football writers from various media houses to choose the outstanding players of the season.

The winner of the 2014 Castle Lager Soccer Star of the Year, who will be announced at a banquet in December will receive a trophy and $5 000 prize money.

The Coach of the Year, Rookie Player of the Year and Best Under-20 will also be selected today.

There are prizes too for the Goalkeeper of the Year, the Most Disciplined Team of the Year and the Golden Boot.

According to the rules and regulations guiding the selection of the outstanding players of the season, any player, according to the PSL, who accumulated six yellow cards or more during the course of the season up to selection time, will not be eligible for the awards.

The same will apply to a player who accumulated two or more red cards during the course of the season up to selection time.

However, merely being dragged before a disciplinary committee does not exclude a player from the selection process if the guilty verdict has not been passed. 

CAPS United’s Hardlife Zvirekwi and Njabulo Ncube of Highlanders are already out of consideration after they were sanctioned by the league and their clubs respectively.

ZPC Kariba are expected to provide the bulk of the players with the like Dennis Dauda, Limited Chikafa, Tendai Hove and Pride Tafirenyika having contributed immensely to their team’s cause.

The Dynamos trio of Stephen Alimenda, Blessing Moyo and Themba Ndlovu have had a good season for the Glamour Boys.

Charles Sibanda did fairly well for Bosso while the same can be said of CAPS United’s Tendai Samanja.

FC Platinum have players like Thabani Kamusoko and Walter Musona who have been consistent. 

ZPC Kariba coach Saul Chaminuka and Dynamos’ Calisto Pasuwa are the top contenders for the Coach of the Year award.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.