Sundowns clinch league title

JOHANNESBURG - Mamelodi Sundowns clinched their first Absa Premiership title in seven years at Loftus Stadium in Pretoria on Tuesday evening, edging Tshwane rivals SuperSport United 3-0 thanks to goals from Suprise Moriri, Teko Modise and Cuthbert Malajila.

'Downs survived a nervy opening half before turning on the style in the second to stretch their winning run in the league to 10 matches.

Pitso Mosimane kept faith in the side that led the Brazilians to the brink of their first league title since the 2006/2007 season.

Cavin Johnson, meanwhile, rang the changes with Roscoe Pietersen notably returning to the starting XI following a long injury layoff while 18-year-old Joao Oliveira spearheaded the attack.

It was a nervy start to the game for the home side who failed to find their rhythm in the early exchanges. The defenders especially were guilty of a few anxious touches in and around their own penalty box.

Moriri, who has been in exceptional form of late, missed a golden chance to hand 'Downs the ascendancy in the 22nd minute.

Anthony Laffor made a driving run down the right flank before squaring the ball to Moriri who hopelessly squandered his effort from point blank range.

Sundowns continued to knock on the door with Modise forcing Ronwen Williams into a fine save just after the half-hour mark.

Kennedy Mweene was lucky to escape with just a caution after he hurled down Bennett Chenene outside the area on the cusp of halftime.

Moriri made amends for his earlier miss, putting 'Downs ahead four minutes into the second stanza.

Tebogo Langerman's pinpoint cross found an unmarked Moriri who nodded in from close range.

Modise doubled the hosts' lead with a stupendous strike just after the hour mark.

His first-time strike from 35 yards out looped over Williams's head and into the back of the net.

'Downs continued to turn up the style and made in 3-0 in the 74th minute through Malajila, who produced a fine finish to all but wrap up the game.

The Brazilians saw the game out with relative ease as they ended their six-year trophy drought.

Pitso Mosimane subsequently became the first black South African coach to win the league title since the formation of the PSL in 1996.

Kaizer Chiefs beat the Uuniversity of Pretoria 1-0 in a simultaneous fixture.

The trophy will be handed over to the Brazilians at the Harry Gwala stadium on Saturday, following their clash with Maritzburg United. – SuperSport

Comments (1)

am happy for malajila, Teko Modise for lifting the absa premiership. up, up the brazilians.

Ninja 3 - 7 May 2014

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.