Mudzinganyama qualifies for Four Minute Mile

BULAWAYO - South Africa-based Givemore Mudzinganyama became the 25th athlete to qualify for this year’s edition of the ZITF Coca Cola Four Minute Mile at Wednesday’s qualifying event held at Gifford High School.

Mudzinganyama qualified with a time of 4:30:17 and was the only athlete among the 19 hopefuls who took part in the race to earn the right to take part in Saturday’s race set for the ZITF Main arena.

The 24-year-old athlete has been enjoying a fine run in South Africa and recently won the 10 km race at the Birchwood Half Marathon in Johannesburg on April 13.

Prior to that victory, Mudzinganyama had in the previous week come fourth at the Umzimkhulu 21,1 Spar Corridor Half Marathon in Durban where he ran his personal best in that distance in a time of 1 hour 04:12.

And at the beginning of the year the athlete came second in the Johnson Crane 10,5 kilometre race that was held in Johannesburg in what was his first race of the year.

Mudzinganyama told the Daily News that he has high hopes for the weekend finale.

“I hope to do well considering that I have been doing great in South Africa where I am based but my only worry is that the last qualifying event was held too close to the final race.

“The good thing is that today’s race was not a quick one so I did not strain myself and I am ready to do my best on Saturday,” Mudzinganyama.

Black Rhinos athlete Simbarashe Chikadaga is the defending champion after romping to victory in 4 minutes 10:10 last year.

A total of 29 athletes took part in last year’s race.

Final list of athletes for ZITF Four Minute Mile:

Wirimai Juwawo (Shabanie Mine), George Majaji (Freda Rebecca Mine), Thando Maphosa, Simbarashe Taderera (all Sparrows), Isaac Mpofu, Trust Chidomaya, Trust Madoro (all ZRP Fairbridge), Bonface Jeki, Levison Mafura, Trust Hove, Simbarashe Chikadaga, Tatenda Hove, Charles Mkanda (all Black Rhinos) Dzingayi Dandara, Jonathan Chinyoka, Nomore Wiriki (all ZPS), Blessmore Chidziva (ZRP), Phathisa Ngwabi (Hwange), Tawanda Matunhu, Wellington Varevi, Nkosiyazi Sibanda (all Blanket Mine), Elijah Mabhunu (Harare Athletics Club), Irvin Rozi (Eiffel Flats), Kudakwashe Durban and Givemore Mudzinganyama.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.