Andy Waller eyes World T20 final

HARARE - Andy Waller, the Zimbabwe national cricket team coach has set his team a target of playing in the final of the ICC World Twenty20 that gets underway in Bangladesh next week.

Zimbabwe is scheduled to fly out to Bangladesh this evening and Waller appears undeterred by the valuable preparation time lost due to the players’ strike saga that has haunted Zimbabwe Cricket since last December.

Waller had very little time to work with the players as a group due to the fact that they had refused to train until they were paid their dues by ZC.

The saga appeared to have ended when the ICC agreed to avail a $3 million loan to ZC but there was another snag when the players demanded the union to set aside a portion of their revenue from the Bangladesh tournament into a salary fund.

Zimbabwe are pooled in Group B together with associate nations Ireland, Holland and the United Arab Emirates.

To reach the tournament proper where they will meet fellow Test playing nations, Zimbabwe needs to negotiate their way out of this group.

“We still managed to get a week and a half of hard work training and we are on track of getting into the World T20,” Waller told the Daily News yesterday.

“The fielding improved over the course of the training but still lagging behind with our seam department but definitely they will find their rhythm at the tournament.”

The former national team player said he was looking forward to playing in the final and he has the players who can deliver.

“I’m 100 percent happy with our squad and we are looking forward to play in the final of the tourney,” he said.

“It’s definitely going to be difficult but what’s of importance is to go through this first round and worry about anything else later.”

Zimbabwe Twenty20 Squad: Sikandar Raza Butt, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Natsai Mushangwe, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor (cptn), Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.

Non-travelling reserves: Chamu Chibhabha, Tino Mawoyo, Tawanda Mupariwa, Foster Mutizwa, Tino Mutombodzi.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.