It's Jah Prayzah's Nama

BULAWAYO - Popular musician Jah Prayzah broke National Arts Merit Awards (Nama) records on Saturday night at Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel after claiming an impressive haul of four awards.

The Uzumba-born musician claimed gongs in the Outstanding Male Musician, Outstanding Album, Outstanding Song and People’s Choice categories.

Jah Prayzah, who walked away with $2 000 for the four-award haul, capped an exceptional night by also winning the People’s Choice Award that was voted for by music fans.

The energetic performer, whose four awards are more than the three won by Suluman Chimbetu in the last edition, also netted various vouchers.

On a night when everything associated with the Tsviriyo hit-maker had a golden allure, his video for the song Mwanasikana made by Willard Magombedze scooped the Outstanding Music Video award.

Clad in the usual army attire, the singer got a deserved standing ovation from the hundreds of nominees who attended the event.

“I want to thank my fans for these awards. These awards will always remind me of you (my fans),” an excited Jah Prayzah said to wild cheers.

While Jah Prayzah was the clear star of attraction of the 13th Nama edition, the event was also a memorable one for Gweru-based Forbes Mushipe who won the Outstanding Mix Media category for the past three consecutive years.

In this year’s Nama the Zambia-bred Mushipe’s Nhapwasikana scooped the honours, beating the challenge of Johnson Zuze’s Barking Dog and Anthony Ngandu’s School Children.

Another big winner was Bulawayo-based visual artist Israel Israel who walked away with a second Nama in the three dimensional category. Israel’s winning entry this year’s Nama is a piece titled Indigenisation which is very critical of Zimbabwe’s empowerment and affirmative action programmes.

One of the surprises of the 13th Nama was prominent gospel singer Olivia Charamba’s victory in the Outstanding Female musician category despite the fact that her last album was The Gospel released in 2009.

Many music fans were of the opinion that either Selmor Mtukudzi or Edith Katiji better known as Edith weUtonga would cop the coveted award this year.       

The failure by Emmanuel ‘Guspy Warrior’ Manyeruke to win a single Nama must have rubbed young music fans the wrong way.

Dancehall music is arguably the most popular Zimbabwean genre at the moment  and expectations were very high that Seunononga would claim the Outstanding Song prize.

Aside from the various awards, some of which are going to trigger endless debates, this year’s Nama will be best remembered for presenting another homecoming opportunity for South Africa-based music legend Dorothy Masuku who was a fitting guest of honour.

The 78-year-old jazz musician urged Sports, Arts and Culture minister Andrew Langa who was in attendance to hold an event meant to honour departed music legends.

“It is important to honour late musicians like Augustine Musarurwa, Madzikatire (Safirio) and Chiwoniso (Maraire),” said Masuku who spiritedly emphasised that she will always be Zimbabwean regardless of where she is based.

The Nama audience was entertained by performances from Masuka, Jah Prayzah and a Bulawayo dance group Antivirus.

Full list of Nama winners

Literary Awards

Outstanding First Creative Published Work: Rebel soldier by Solomon Mwapangidza

Outstanding Children’s Book: The River god Unyaminyami by Fortune Tazvivinga

Outstanding Fiction Book: Branching Streams Flow in the Dark by Charles Mungoshi and Imbwa Yemunhu by Ignatius Mabasa

Dance Awards

Outstanding Group: 8 Count Dance crew

Outstanding Female Dancer: Maylene Chenjerai from Tumbuka Dance Company

Outstanding Male Dancer: Peter Lenso  from Tumbuka dance Company

Outstanding Choreographer: Sean George Mabwere from Rolex Dance Crew

Film and Television Awards

Outstanding Actor: Nash Mphepho in Decoder

Outstanding Actress: Eunice Tava in Sinners

Outstanding Music Video: Mwanasikana by Willard Magombedze ft. Jah Prayzah

Outstanding Screen Production Full length film: Gringo the Trouble Maker by Enock Chihombori

Outstanding Screen Production: Short Film: Decoder by Jasen Maphepho

Outstanding Screen Production (TV): No Nominees

Visual Arts Awards

Outstanding Mix Media: Nhapwasikana by Forbes Mushipe

Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work: House of Stone by Webster Mubayirenyi

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work: Indigenisation by Israel Israel

Outstanding Exhibition: No Nominees

Spoken Word Awards

Outstanding Comedian: Simba the Comic King for Haakeem VS Pistorious

Outstanding Poet: Obert Dube

Theatre Awards

Outstanding Actress: Nyaradzo Nhongonhema in Pub Stories

Outstanding Actor: Tafadzwa Hananda in Pub Stories/ Half Empty Half Full

Outstanding Theatrical Production: Half Empty Half Full by Savannah Trust

Outstanding Director: Ryan Lawrence and Peter John Smyth  for The Woman In Black
Music Awards

Outstanding Female musician: Olivia Charamba      

Outstanding Male musician: Mukudzei Mukombe aka Jah Prayzah 

Outstanding Album: Tsviriyo by Mukudzei Mukombe aka Jah Prayzah

Outstanding Song: Tsviriyo from  Tsviriyo by Mukudzei Mukombe aka Jah Prayzah

Media Awards

Outstanding Journalist Print: Shamiso Yikoniko from the Sunday Mail

Outstanding Journalist TV: Sifiso Mpofu from ZBC

Outstanding Journalist Radio: Problem Masau from Star FM

Outstanding Online Media: Zimbo Jam

Comments (3)

if at all our young musicians often called urban groovers could learn something from jah prayzah, he writes and sings sense zvechi "obscene" izvi akomana siyai hamuzoluma pamaawards

arts - 17 February 2014

zezurulism! why is sabhuku Vharazipi not even on nominees? Ndiko kunyepa chaiko uko. moisa vanaGringo mbiri dzakare. NdezvechiBambazonke mushonga wemazezuru izvi.

Tongogara - 17 February 2014

you go boy u're going to be the next mapfumo

mhofelah - 18 February 2014

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.