ZC names provisional T20 squad

HARARE - Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) has named a 30-man provisional squad for March’s ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh, although uncertainty remains over the players’ availability.

The country’s cricketers late last year went on strike in protest over unpaid dues, and have vowed to continue the industrial action if ZC fails to pay them before the resumption of the domestic season on January 18.

In a squad with no real surprises, only three players – batsman Kevin Kasuza together with pace bowlers Taurai Muzarabani and Richard Muzhange – have not been capped at any of the three formats of international cricket, although Midwest Rhinos seamer Muzhange did play for Zimbabwe in an unofficial T20 series with South Africa and Bangladesh last year.

There was no place in the squad for leg-spinner Graeme Cremer, who has continued to decline selection until ZC pays what is owed to him.

The ICC 2014 World20 could also mark the return to international cricket of hard-hitting batsman Charles Coventry and the pace bowling pair of Ed Rainsford and Tawanda Mupariwa, who have been on the sidelines for quite a while.

The touring party of 15 players will be announced before February 15.


Brendan Taylor (captain), Sikandar Raza Butt, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Michael Chinouya, Charles Coventry, Trevor Garwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Chris Mpofu, Tawanda Mupariwa, Natsai M’shangwe, Forster Mutizwa, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, Richard Muzhange, Tinashe Panyangara, Ed Rainsford, Vusi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams, Cephas Zhuwao.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.