Gorowa to name squad

HARARE - Zimbabwe national football team coach Ian Gorowa is set to announce his 2014 African Nations Championship (Chan) provisional squad today.

The tournament features home-based players and is set to kick-off in South Africa on January 11, 2014 and will run until February 1.

Zimbabwe, who will be making their third consecutive appearance at the tournament, have failed to go beyond the group stages in the previous two editions.

But they will be hoping for better fortunes this time around after being handed a fair draw where they are pooled in Group B alongside North African giants Morocco alongside Uganda and Burkina Faso.

The group will play all their matches at Athlone Stadium in Cape Town.

Since earning a seat at the continental showpiece after defeating Zambia in the last qualifying round, Zimbabwe have been quietly preparing for the Chan tournament under the stewardship of Gorowa.

The Warriors’ spirits were lifted last week after they registered their first home win under Gorowa going on to defeat Mozambique 2-1 in an international friendly at Barbourfields Stadium.

Zimbabwe is expected to play another friendly encounter against Libya before they wrap up their preparations for the Chan tournament.

Gorowa is likely to keep his faith in players like Highlanders midfielder Masimba Mambare, who captained the side through their Chan qualifying stage.

Dynamos goalkeeper George Chigova, Felix Chindungwe of Chicken Inn, Harare City talisman Silas Songani and Danny Phiri from Chicken Inn are sure bet to carry the hopes of Zimbabwe in South Africa.

The likes of Highlanders forward Milton Ncube and Kuda Mahachi of Chicken Inn who have been capped before at senior level are likely to get the nod.

Tawanda Muparati, who was crowned 2013 Soccer Star of the Year after helping Dynamos to their third straight title, is expected to be included in the enlarged Warriors squad.

Chan 2014 draw

Group A: South Africa, Mali, Nigeria, Mozambique
Group B: Zimbabwe, Uganda, Burkina Faso, Morocco
Group C: Ghana, Libya, Ethiopia, Congo Brazzaville
Group D: Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Burundi, Mauritania

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.