Zim names U-19 African Champs squad

HARARE – Zimbabwe have named their 24-man squad for this year’s Confederation of African Rugby (Car) Championships scheduled for August 26-31 in Nelspruit, South Africa.

The winner of the tournament will book the sole ticket for next year’s International Rugby Board (IRB) Junior World Rugby Trophy to be hosted by Hong Kong.

Loose Forward Alva Senderayi as well as utility backs Lance Chikodzi and Takudzwa Kumadiro are the only survivors from last year’s team, which was crushed by Namibia 44-27 in the final in Harare.

The Young Sables, under new coach Nsikelelo “Sykes” Sibanda, have pulled out all stops this year in efforts to reclaim their title.

They will, however, face a lot of stumbling blocks in their preparations, with several Craven Week players having pulled out due to exam commitments and injuries.

However, the team manager Blessing Chitaure remained buoyant and told the Daily News: “We have a new formula and a new system which we believe will pay back.”

Zimbabwe will face Kenya in a tricky opener on August 27 and the winner from that match will face the winner from the other semi-final between defending champions Namibia and newly-promoted Madagascar.

Squad: Gabriel Sipapate, Newton Tanyanyiwa, Andrew Mataga, Alva Senderayi,Mkululi  Ndhela,Takudzwa Kumadiro, Tinashe Gwisai, Malcom Maparura, Lance Chikodzi, Lloyd Mudzova, Bastien Mendelsohn, Bright Ruzvidzo , Houghton Chachoma, Michael Gazimbi,  Thulani Dhliwayo, Tawanda Chipadza, Kudakwashe Nhira, Chalamagne Jaysile, Ngoni Chibuwe, Takudzwa Fransico, Nyasha Chimedza, Charles Mungwari, Kudakwashe Nhira, Sebastian Roche.