Mushore, Wakurawarehwa win Zim chess champs

HARARE - Emarald Mushore and Colleta Wakurawarehwa are the winners of this year’s Zimbabwe National Chess Federation Championships in the male and female’s category respectively.

Mushore finished with 7,5 points from nine games  followed by International Master Ridwell Makoto, who finished with six points.

For his efforts, Mushore pocketed $900 while IM Makoto received $600.

Castro Sibanda finished on third position with 5, 5 points while Elisha Thabo and Bismarck Bhobhojani finished tied on fourth position with four and half points.

In the women’s section, Wakurawarehwa was crowned the champion after he finished with nine points from nine games followed by Tatenda Zengeni, Bridget Pumuyo and Paidashe Zengeni, who were tied in second position with six points.

Wakurawarehwa received $400 for winning the title, while second-placed Zengeni and the other two shared $250.

Zimbabwe Chess Federation tournament director Elton Mangarai said the tournament was a success.

“This is one of the best tournaments we have ever held. We hope the event will go a long way in as far as the development of the game is concerned in our country,” Mangarai told the Daily News.

“The event was a success and it was a record-setting event, drawing a huge number of participants. There was a great turnout with participants coming on board to develop their skills.”

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.