Nyarota trounced in MDC elections

HARARE - Former Daily News editor Geoffrey Nyarota‘s bid to enter Zimbabwe’s politics took a severe knock when he was resoundingly rejected by MDC supporters in Makoni South during the party’s elections at the weekend.

The award-winning journalist polled a paltry 49 votes against Pishai Muchauraya’s emphatic 447 voters.

Nyarota was eyeing the constituency held by the Manicaland provincial spokesperson who was retained by his faithful just days after police had arrested him in bizarre circumstances.

Muchauraya was arrested in Mutare on Friday during a parliamentary meeting and locked up —effectively removing him from the election scene where results went against Nyarota.

Police alleged Muchauraya, had, in March, threatened with death Nyarota’s campaign manager — Amos Kutiya — raising suspicion among his supporters it was a ploy to eliminate him from participating and subsequently barring him from winning the right to represent them.

Muchauraya is also on trial in Harare where he is facing charges of threatening Nyarota with death.

But it was a different story for another journalist Grace Kwinjeh who romped to victory in the MDC primary elections for Makoni Central — a seat left vacant by the death of John Nyamande, an MDC legislator, in November 2008.

Kwinjeh joins former journalists Eric Knight who will represent the MDC in the volatile Mbare Constituency and Ezra Sibanda who was given the nod to represent the party in Vungu.

After the Sunday round of elections all but two of the seating MPs in the MDC stronghold of Manicaland were confirmed.

Violence derailed the process in Dangamvura-Chikanga Constituency where incumbent MP, Giles Mutsekwa, is up against lawyer Arnold Tsunga while in Chipinge Central elections will only be held after the filling of the party structures.

The process was also abandoned in Mutare North, Mutasa South and Buhera West.

Candidates who won orphaned seats include Kwinjeh, Julius Magarangoma (Buhera North), Isaac Sithole (Chimanimani East) and David Tekeshe Headlands.

Top MDC officials who include party deputy treasurer, Elton Mangoma (Makoni North), party spokesperson Douglas Mwonzora (Nyanga North) and MPs Trevor Saruwaka (Mutasa Central), Lynette Karenyi Kore (Chimanimani West) sailed through unopposed.

MPs who passed the confirmation process albeit with opposition include; Prosper Mutseyami (Musikavanhu), Shuah Mudiwa (Mutare West), Sibonile Nyamudeza (Chipinge West), Tangwara Matimba (Buhera Central) Naison Nemadziva (Buhera South) Willard Chimbetete (Nyanga South) Meki Makuyana (Chipinge South), Webber Chinyadza (Makoni West) and Innocent Gonese (Mutare Central).

Under party rules, sitting legislators have to go through a confirmation exercise by their respective constituencies.

Only those who fail to garner two-thirds support from their constituencies have to go for primary elections.

Masvingo and Manicaland provinces provide the largest chunk of legislators for the MDC and in the last harmonised election in 2008; the party won 20 seats in Manicaland while 14 were victorious in Masvingo.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.