Zim trio in Sundowns touring team

HARARE - South African Premiership giants Mamelodi Sundowns have included their Zimbabwean trio of Method Mwanjali, Esrom Nyandoro and Nyasha Mushekwi in a strong squad set to tour Zimbabwe next week.

Sundowns announced a strong 57-member delegation for the five-day tour, which they will open against Highlanders in Bulawayo on Wednesday before travelling to Harare to face Dynamos and CAPS United.

The Pretoria-based side will arrive in Zimbabwe’s second largest city on Monday before taking on Bosso two days later at Barbourfields Stadium.

The Brazilians will then play CAPS at Rufaro Stadium on February 1 in their second game of the whistle-stop tour before squaring off against Zimbabwean champions Dynamos at the same venue two days later.

Sundowns, who had an indifferent first half of the season, currently lie 10th on the Absa Premiership standings after 16 games and using the Zimbabwe tour to stay in shape ahead of the resumption of the South African league on February 13.  

In a clear sign that the wealthy South African outfit is taking the Zimbabwe tour seriously, the Brazilians have included their assortment of stars in Teko Modise, Surprise Moriri, Anthony Laffor, Elias Pelembe, Richard Henyekane, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Clayton Daniels, Wayne Arendse and Eleazar Rogers.

Rashid Sumaila of Togo and Ghanaian Emmanuel Mathias, who have been on trials with the club, are also part of the delegation.

Sundowns are currently camping in Polokwane for the matches and are also expected to pass through Botswana on their way back home before the second half of the season resumes.

Of the Zimbabwean clubs, Dynamos stand to benefit more from the South Africans’ tour.

Dynamos are scheduled to play Lesotho Correctional Services next month in the preliminary round of the African Champions League and will use the friendly to test their strength.


Players: Calvin Marlin, Denis Onyango, Siyabonga Ngubane, Doctor Mampuru, Method Mwanjali, Clayton Daniels, Wayne Arendse, Eleazer Rogers, Kwandakwensizwa Mngonyana, Alje Schut, Tebogo Langerman, Abel Mabaso, Mumuni Abubakar, Themba Zwane, Musa Nyatama, Thamsanqa Sangweni, Surprise Moriri, Esrom Nyandoro, Hlompho Kekana, Teko Modise, Samuel Jules, Anthony Laffor, Elias Pelembe, Richard Henyekane, Emmanuel Baffor, Nyasha Mushekwi, Edward Mnqele, Sibusiso Khumalo, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Rashid Sumaila, Emmanuel Mathias.

Technical staff: Pitso Mosimane (head coach), Alex Bapela (Assistant coach), Clifford Dlangalala (assistant coach), Jon Pascua-Ibarrola (goalkeepers’ trainer), Helvicio de Gusmas (physical trainer), Wendell Robinson (goalkeepers’ coach), Trott Moloto (Head of technical), Mike Ntombela (team Manager), Goolam Husein Valodia (Technical analyst), Paul Maphoto (team doctor), Sakhumzi Ngwevela (physio), Anthony Mcgregor (biokinetist), Sizwe Gqogqo (Massuer), Freddy Zungu (kit manager), Simon Mashego (players’ caretaker), Kabelo Mosito (communications), Dumisani Nyathi (bus driver), Charles Nkhulu, Jan Moloya, Thomas Tshwale, John Skhosana, Peter Mofolo, Charles Manailane, Jeffrey Mokoetedi, Michael Mphomane (all team security). - Godknows Matarutse

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.