SRC sets criteria for Hall of Fame

HARARE - The Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC) have begun laying the groundwork that will see more individuals being inducted into the Zimbabwe Hall of Fame.

The new inductees will be nominated by the sporting associations affiliated with the SRC.

SRC spokesperson Tirivashe Nheveyembwa said the commission was fine tuning the criteria that will be used by sports associations in nominating the sports luminaries to be bestowed the honour of being inducted into the Hall of Fame.

“The criterion is that for somebody to be inducted into the Zimbabwe Hall of Fame they should have distinguished themselves at the highest level in their sporting discipline,” Nheveyembwa said.

“These individuals must have retired from the sport for no less than five years, they must not have committed any crimes such as doping amongst other things and they must be Zimbabwean citizens, obviously we are going to add to these conditions of nominations when we meet sports associations on February 23.

“Even if an individual was distinguished in pre-independent Zimbabwe, if that person was outstanding then they can be nominated,” he said.

The decision to open the Zimbabwe Hall of Fame nomination process comes eight years after the first sportspersons were inducted in 2005.

The first inductees to the Hall of Fame include sprinter Artwell Mandaza, boxer Langton “Schoolboy” Tinago, shooter David Westerhout, footballer George Shaya, diver Evan Stewart and the women’s hockey team that won the gold medal at the 1980 Olympic Games in Moscow.

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.