Harare City capture Mukuradare

HARARE - Ambitious Castle Premiership side Harare City have completed the signing of striker Osborne Mukuradare from Monomotapa as the club seek to build a strong team capable of challenging for honours next season.

Defender Willard Kalongonda has also extended his stay at the club while Witness Savanhu completes his move from Division One side DStv Rangers.

Mukuradare was one of Monomotapa’s outstanding players in the 2012 season, chipping in with important goals and assists as the former Zimbabwe champions finished fourth in the Premiership.

His hattrick for Monomotapa against Highlanders in August condemned the title chasers to their first and only defeat of the season in the league.

Sources say the Sunshine Boys have also stepped up the chase for Kuda Musharu, another Monomotapa player.
Coached by Bigboy Mawiwi and run by the Harare City Council, Harare City are one of the most financially stable teams in the league.

City have also been a symbol of continuity, keeping intact the core of the squad that took them into the Premiership and has been doing duty for them in the past three seasons while in the country’s second league tier.

Meanwhile, defender Witness Nyamutsaka was voted the club’s Player of the Year at an awards ceremony on Thursday night.

Nyamutsaka pocketed $5 000 for his efforts while his partner at the heart of defence, Edgar Tapera, was voted Players’ Player of the Year and walked away $3 000 richer.

Club chairperson Leslie Gwindi expressed satisfaction with his team’s maiden performance in the top-flight league in their maiden PSL season.

City finished seventh.

“We are going for the championship next year,” said Gwindi.

“We are happy with what we have achieved in our first year in the Premiership. We want to use this off season to strengthen our squad. We are looking for quality players so that we can build a squad that can fight for the championship.”


Player of the Year: Witness Nyamutsaka
Players’ Player of the Year: Edgar Tapera
Top Goal scorer: Godfrey Nguwodzawo
Most Disciplined Player: Trymore Nyamadzawo
Rookie of the Year: Munyaradzi Diro-Nyenye
Most Improved Player: Nomore Jones
Most Loyal Player: Raymond Uchena

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.