Ncube fires more MPs

BULAWAYO - Industry minister Welshman Ncube’s MDC faction has fired more MPs, a move that would leave the party with only three seats in the House of Assembly.

Ncube and party secretary-general Priscilla Misihairabwi-Mushonga dismally lost the 2008 parliamentary elections and are in government courtesy of 10 seats won by other party members during the election.

That figure is fast dwindling as the MPs desert Ncube’s MDC, a situation that leaves him and Misihairabwi-Mushonga battling to justify their presence in the coalition government.

The latest legislators to be axed by Ncube include deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly Nomalanga Khumalo.

Khumalo, who is the Umzingwane MP, was expelled together with two other House of Assembly members Thandeko Zindi Mnkandla of Gwanda North constituency and Maxwell Dube of Tsholotsho South.

Senators Kembo Dube (Umzingwane South) and Dalumuzi Khumalo (Lupane) were also shown the door on allegations of working with the mainstream MDC party led by Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai.

Ncube broke away from the MDC to form his own outfit using the same party name in 2005 after accusing Tsvangirai of being a dictator.

In the letters of expulsion signed by Misihairambwi-Mushonga, the five were fired for disrespecting the party leadership.

Misihairambwi-Mushonga said the five were also thrown out for “refusing to repent” after they attended a mainstream MDC meeting in Botswana in 2008.

“Following the June 2008 elections, you were recruited to join the MDC-T as evidenced by your Botswana trip and ever since that day you have consistently worked with the MDC-T not withstanding repeated attempts by the party to reach out to you,” reads a copy of the letter sent to the MPs.

“You have refused to work for the party and in fact rejected the authority of the party’s national leadership and the national council and generally disassociated yourself from the party,” Misihairambwi-Mushonga said in the expulsion letters.

The fired MPs received the expulsion letters yesterday.

Misihairambwi-Mushonga said the party would ask House of Assembly Speaker Lovemore Moyo and Senate President Edna Madzongwe to expel the five from Parliament.

“We further advise that the party at the time of its choosing will in due course advise the Speaker that you ceased to be member of the party under whose ticket you were elected to Parliament,” reads Misihairambwi-Mushonga’s letter.

“When the party decides the timing by which to invoke its right under the national constitution, you will lose your seat in Parliament which seat belongs to the party under which ticket you were elected,” she said.

The Ncube MDC faction in 2009 expelled Abednico Bhebhe (Nkayi South), Njabuliso Mguni (Lupane East) and Norman Mpofu (Bulilima East) for allegedly working with the mainstream MDC.
The MDC is now left with three House of Assembly members Moses Mzila-Ndlovu, Edward Mkhosi and Patrick Dube as well as Education minister David Coltart in the Senate. - Pindai Dube


Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.