Inside 2012 NRL awards nominations

HARARE - National Rugby League (NRL) champions Harare Sports Club dominate the list for Friday’s end-of-season awards.

Harare Sports Club were by and large the most impressive team on the domestic rugby scene, losing only once on their way to claim the NRL title.

Here we take a look at the individual nominees, based on how they fared in the season:

Rookie of the year

Old Georgians utility back Alfred Ruwanda was very instrumental in the season, always looking for something.

He faces stiff competition in this category as he squares off with Harare Sports Club centre Simbarashe Chirimuta, who was a revelation in his debut NRL season.

Chirimuta formed a formidable centre-paring with veteran Daniel Hondo.

The young lad was calm as a cucumber all season and grew in confidence each week.

He is the hot favourite to walk away with this one.

Backline Player of the Year

The Harare Sports Club duo of Hondo and wing Stephen Hunduza will battle it out for this award.

Hunduza was a live wire this season; his electrifying pace did a lot of damage to the opposition and also scored some vital tries in the campaign.

But like wine, Hondo seems to be getting better with age as he had another terrific season, captaining Sportivo to glory.

Forward Player of the Year

Matabeleland Warriors flank Biselele Tshamala stood out this season and won several games single-handedly.

Tshamala’s work rate at contact point was immense.

He could scoop the award ahead of another impressive loose forward, Old Hararians’ eighthman Takunda Chifokoyo, who was extremely dangerous off the base of scrums and had superb running lines.

On offence, no loose forward could match him this season.

Most Disciplined Player of the Year

The Warriors duo of Oswald Lynx and skipper Lloyd Machanjire will be vying for this award.

Player of the Year

Harare Sports Club captain Daniel Hondo and teammate Hunduza will square off once again and the award can go either way as they both had a great season.

Coach of the Year

Harare Sports club coach Nsikelelo “Sykes” Sibanda is most likely to win this award as he only lost one game all season and lifted the NRL title.

His biggest challenge will come from Matabeleland Warriors coach Rueben Kumpasa, who also had an impressive season. - Brian Matamba

Post a comment

Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
- Editor

Your email address will not be shared.