Sables name 14 unnamed players

HARARE - The Zimbabwe Rugby Union on Saturday announced a 40-man Sables provisional squad to go into camp today in preparation for a four-team invitational tournament in Namibia next month.

Predictably, the squad’s backline is dominated by Harare Sports Club, who edged Matabeleland Warriors 22-19 on Saturday to clinch the National Rugby League title.

Experienced back Cleopas Makotose, who is nursing a hamstring injury, was left out while 14 uncapped players were included on the list.  

Sportivo centre Simba Chirimuta, younger brother of former Sables prop Shingi, has been rewarded for his outstanding season with a maiden national team call-up.

Chirimuta, who formed a formidable centre-pairing for Sports Club with the experienced Daniel Hondo in the second half of the just-ended season, is joined by Harare Sports Club teammates and fellow uncapped backs, winger Stephen Hunduza and scrumhalf Philemon Machisa.

The other backline players in the squad who are not capped at test level are Old Hararians centre Gavin Nyawata, Zimbabwe Sevens flyer Tafadzwa Chitokwindo as well as the Old Georgians trio of Justin Coles, Graham Kaulback and Johnthan McWade.

In the forwards, Matabeleland loose forwards Lucky Sithole and Biselele Tshamala have been rewarded with call-ups following a consistent season for the former the Bulawayo side. The two former Zimbabwe youth internationals are were called up alongside club-mate and fellow uncapped forward Tapiwa Mangezi.

Harare Sports Clun hooker Tolerance Zishe, Old Georgians prop Kudakwashe Makuvire and University of KwaZulu Natal lock Tinashe Bopoto are the other uncapped players in the forwards.

The Sables will begin their training at the National Sports Stadium B arena today.

Namibia, Spain and South African Buffaloes will contest the Windhoek tournament, to be played between November 12 and 18.


Forwards: Costa Dinha (captain), Tatenda Karuru, Piet Joubert, Jan Ferreira, Jacques Leitao, Norman Mukondiwa, Brian Makamure, Jakov Jakov, Fortune Chipendu, Takunda Chifokoyo, Tapiwa Mangezi, Lucky Sithole, Bisele Tshamala, Tolerance Zishe, Tinashe Bopoto, Vakai Hove, Jonathan Goosen, Kudakwashe Makuvire.

Backs: Scotty Jones, Tichafara Makwanya, Kudakwashe Chiwanza, Daniel Hondo, Gardner Nechironga, Tangai Nemandire, Lenience Tambwera, Simba Chirimuta, Danny Robertson, Stephen Hunduza, Philemon Machisa, Gavin Nyawata, Justin Coles, Graham Kaulback, Tafadzwa Chitokwindo, Johnathan McWade, Wes Mbanje, Jafet Ndebele.

    Post a comment

    Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
    Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
    - Editor

    Your email address will not be shared.