Sadomba nominated for top award

HARARE - Zimbabwean forward Edward Sadomba has celebrated his reprieve in the Asiagate match-fixing scandal by making it among 32 nominees for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award.

The former Dynamos star, who has been enjoying good scoring form for Sudanese club Al Hilal in the African Confederation Cup, was this week named among seven more players cleared in Zimbabwe’s match-fixing scandal by the Ahmed Ebrahim-led Ethics Committee.

He was immediately drafted into the Warriors squad to face Angola next week in a decisive African Nations Cup qualifier in Luanda.

The award Sadomba is vying for is not to be confused with the African Footballer of the Year — the main award.

The African Player of the Year recognizes the player who has done well specifically on the continent.

Caf will announce the top 10 nominees for the African Footballer of the Year and the top five African Player of the Year (based in Africa) by late October after the voting by Caf relevant standing committees; namely the media, technical and football committees.

African Player of the Year — Based in Africa Nominees:

Abdelmoumen Djabou (Club Africain), Ahmed El-Basha (Al Merreikh), Ahmed Zuway (CA Bizertin), Abdoulrazak Fiston (Lydia Academic), Alou Bagayoko (Djoliba), Alula Girma (St. Georges), Azuka Bobo Izu (Sunshine Stars), Boubacar Bangoura (Djoliba), Edward Sadomba (Al Hilal), Essam El Hadary (Al Merreikh), Emmanuel Atukwei Clottey (Esperance), Given Singuluma (TP Mazembe), Hamouda Ahmed El Bashir (Al Ahly Shandy), Harrison Afful (Esperance), Ismailia Diarra Cercle (Olympique de Bamako), João Hernani Rosa Barros (Interclub), Mohamed Aboutreika (Al-Ahly), Mongezi Bobe (BIack Leopards, South Africa), Mudather ElTaieb (Al Hilal), Mxolisi Mthethwa (Royal Leopard), Oboabona Godfrey (Sunshine Stars), Omar Mohamed Bakheet (Al Hilal), Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe), Razak Yakubu (Al Ahly Shandy), Samatta Mbwana (TP Mazembe), Solomon Asante (Berekum Chelsea), Stoppila Sunzu (TP Mazembe), Taboko Eric Nyemba (AC Leopard Dolisie), Tresor Mputu Mabi (TP Mazembe), Walid Hicheri (Esperance), Yannick N’Djeng (Esperance), Youssef Msakni (Esperance). — Sports Writer/

    Post a comment

    Readers are kindly requested to refrain from using abusive, vulgar, racist, tribalistic, sexist, discriminatory and hurtful language when posting their comments on the Daily News website.
    Those who transgress this civilised etiquette will be barred from contributing to our online discussions.
    - Editor

    Your email address will not be shared.